Skip to content

Liebster Award

March 11, 2013

liebster_awardI’ve been nominated for a few blogging awards before. I appreciate the thought. Honestly—it’s very flattering to have something I’ve worked hard on be called out. However, I tend to not follow through because they honestly feel kind of like chain letters to me (“Answer these questions and tag ten people!”) On the other side, it gives me a chance to let people whose blogs I’m reading know that I appreciate their work.

Also, this one just looked like fun, mainly because I don’t tend to talk about myself much on here unless it has to do with writing. Thanks to Cheryl Fassett for nominating me and for providing such great questions. The nomination’s actually been sitting for a while and I’ve been debating whether or not to run with it. In the end, I decided to go with it.

Here are the fancy shmancy rules:

1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog and link back to the blogger who presented this award to you. (Check)
2. Answer the 11 questions from the nominator, list 11 random facts about yourself and create 11 questions for your nominees. (Oh, uh, okay)
3. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 11 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen. (No tag backs)
4. Copy and Paste the blog award on your blog (Check)

The questions:

    1. Are you a blogger at heart or do you dream of writing novels, plays, poetry? What are your writing goals?
      I have dabbed in poetry and journalism in the past, but currently focus on mostly short stories and novels. I’m working on getting a few of my short stories published and polishing up my novels for editing and potential publication. Ultimately I would like to have a book published. The primary purpose of my blog is to keep writing always at the front of my mind, even when I’m not at work.
    2. Where have you travelled? Where do you dream of travelling?
      I’ve been to various states within the U.S., including Hawaii. I’ve also been to the island Antigua (when I was very young), Italy, and recently, Greece. (I also stuck a toe in Turkey.) I dream of visiting Spain, Jamaica, England, Wales, Alaska, and various locations in New England. I will be visiting New Orleans for the first time later this year, and I’m very excited.
    3. What are your greatest pet peeves?
      Oooh, I have so many. A number have to do with driving, but I won’t get into those. That would be a whole blog post. Maybe a whole blog. My writing pet peeves are pretty typical: poor spelling, grammar, and punctuation; people who will accept praise but not criticism; and these people:
  1. Do you have pets? If so, names please! If not, do you wish you did?
    I grew up with many pets, but my apartment complex does not allow pets. As soon as I move, I’m getting a cat.
  2. What super power do you wish you had?
    That’s a tough one. I wish I could fly so that I wouldn’t be afraid of heights (it’s not the height—it’s the falling from the height that worries me.) I wish I could teleport (my morning commute would be wonderful). And I wish I could make squirrels appear out of nowhere (I would automatically win every argument.)
  3. What are your favorite books?
    Beyond Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings, I’d say The Talisman by Stephen King and Peter Straub, Magician by Raymond E. Feist, and The Book of Atrus by Rand and Robyn Miller.
  4. What are you reading now?
    Right now I’m reading Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton, The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver, and listening to an audiobook of Phantoms by Dean Koontz.
  5. What is your best childhood memory?
    I mentioned before that I had a lot of animals as a kid. I wasn’t kidding. Cats, dogs, horses, goats, guinea fowl, and a spider that lived in our windowsill (I was convinced it was the same spider every year but, more likely, I was naming multiple spiders “Fred”—or was it “Frank”?). Any of my memories of running around my backyard looking at horses and chasing after the dogs would fit here. Also, my grandmother used to take me to the library on Saturdays. Those are wonderful memories as well.
  6. What were you afraid of when you were 10?
    Probably hammerhead sharks thanks to a Goosebumps book cover:

    I was convinced my floor was going to open up in the middle of the night and my bed was going to dump me into a tank of hammerhead sharks. I don't know why.

    I was convinced my floor was going to open up in the middle of the night and my bed was going to dump me into a tank of hammerhead sharks.

  7. What is your favorite way to spend a day off?
    On warm days I like to go for long walks, sometimes to the library. On wet or cold days I prefer to stay at home with a book, a TV show, a movie, or a video game. If I’m watching TV or a movie, I’m probably polishing up my draft of my novella, Mortality, at the same time. The first draft is already written, but it needs some love before my beta readers take a look at it.
  8. Do you have a day job? What do you do to pay the bills?
    I’m a video game writer.

The eleven random facts:

  1. My nerditude extends beyond books and video games. I also enjoy comic books and tabletop roleplaying games.
  2. I really like Star Trek. A lot.
  3. I was adopted.
  4. I have a little brother.
  5. I don’t like roast beef.
  6. I love The Little Mermaid.
  7. I have a fear of snakes.
  8. My favorite superheroes are Zorro and Deadpool. (If Batman gets to be a superhero, so does Zorro.)
  9. I often have nightmares and trouble sleeping.
  10. I once took a road trip across the U.S. from North Carolina to Washington state.
  11. I don’t eat crust on bread unless I have to.

Questions for the bloggers I’m tagging to answer:

  1. If you could meet any celebrity, who would it be? Why?
  2. If out of the blue you had to take a completely new career path, something you’ve never done before but always wondered about (like a police officer or astronaut) what would you pick? Why?
  3. What types of music do you listen to?
  4. What is your favorite dream you’ve ever had?
  5. If you could pick any book to be turned into a movie, what would you pick and why?
  6. If you had to pick a (new) pen name for yourself, what would you pick?
  7. What are your goals for this year?
  8. If you could spend a day with any book character, who would you pick and why?
  9. Do you have any interesting hobbies?
  10. If you had a chance to study another language, what would you pick?
  11. If you had three wishes, what would they be?

It was really hard to come up with those questions. Holy cow.

Blogs I’m tagging:

Girl in the Cat Frame Glasses
Words in the Woods
Rosie Oliver
Miss Kitty Roads
Corey M.P.
Sugar Beats
Ashley Catharine Howie
J. Sevick
A Writer’s Journey
Inkless
M. H. Lee

Most of them are focused on writing (except Sugar Beats, which is a fun cooking blog with recipes.) They are all blogs I hand picked because I enjoy them. I could only pick eleven, and if you don’t see your blog up here, don’t be disheartened—if I’m following you, you’re doing something right.

From → General Advice

6 Comments
  1. 1.If you could meet any celebrity, who would it be? Why?
    2.If out of the blue you had to take a completely new career path, something you’ve never done before but always wondered about (like a police officer or astronaut) what would you pick? Why?
    3.What types of music do you listen to?
    4.What is your favorite dream you’ve ever had?
    5.If you could pick any book to be turned into a movie, what would you pick and why?
    6.If you had to pick a (new) pen name for yourself, what would you pick?
    7.What are your goals for this year?
    8.If you could spend a day with any book character, who would you pick and why?
    9.Do you have any interesting hobbies?
    10.If you had a chance to study another language, what would you pick?
    11.If you had three wishes, what would they be?

    1. Only one?? Nope, can’t do one. If blogging ‘celeb’ I’d pick either Brittany Gibbons or Jenny Lawson. If dead celeb I’d pick Gilda Radner. Living celeb either Gerard Butler, Bradley Cooper or Paul Rudd.
    2. New career path…hmmm. Concert pianist. But only if I could magically wake up able to play the piano like a concert pianist. Or at all, really.
    3. I listen to almost everything. Except old country and heavy metal (though I do love me some Metalica)
    4. Naked dreams are always scary/fun. Or dreams where I have super powers.
    5. I actually (for the most part) don’t like when movies are made from books I love because they always seem to mess with the story and the characters never look the way they do in my head which is just wrong. However, it is getting a little better. If I had to pick, I’d probably pick Jodi Picoult’s Lone Wolf.
    6. Oprah Winfrey. Then the books would sell like CRAZY
    7. To find a literary agent.
    8. Signora from Maeve Binchy’s Evening Class (and some of her other books). I fell in love with her character and she is exactly who I’d want to spend a day with.
    9. Not really. I get it in my head sometimes though that I can dance like a mo-fo and then my kids remind me that I’m 37… I enjoy sewing though, if that’s interesting. Oh, and performing in little theatre.
    10. Italian. Beautiful language.
    11. For my kids to have happy lives, for me to never have a bad thought about my weight ever again and to be able to selectively read minds. Evil grin.

    Thanks for the nomination!! This was totally fun!

    • Isn’t it? I usually avoid these things, but I liked the concept here.

      Yeah, I probably should have qualified number 5 with, “and it was done awesomely.”

      Sewing counts as an interesting hobby. I wish I could do it. And theater is fun!

      Italian is truly a beautiful language. And really easy to pick up if you’ve studied any Spanish.

  2. springfieldfem permalink

    Why thank you!

  3. Thank you so much!!! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Did you Just Call me a Liebster? | Smooth ReEntry
  2. Shout Outs Everyone Can Enjoy | Smooth ReEntry

Leave a Reply

