Skip to content

Books to Be Excited About

February 20, 2013

So, a few weeks ago I found this post on io9:

All the Essential Science Fiction and Fantasy Books Coming in 2013

I’m seriously a book nerd. I hoard books. Reading is as essential to me as eating and sleeping (sometimes more essential than sleeping.) So finding this article was kind of like getting a letter that said, “All of your favorite candies will be delivered to your apartment every day for a year for free!” I mean, it was exciting. It’s still exciting. This post came out in January and I’m still freaking out about it.

This year is going to be awesome.

All quotes and images are from the io9 article. I suggest going there for the full list. I’ve just highlighted my favorites below.

nos4a2joylandfall_of_arthurgods_and_monsetersocean_at_the_end_of_the_lane

New Joe Hill!
*happy dance* Heart-Shaped Box is one of my favorite horror novels. 20th Century Ghosts and Horns were both okay. But Heart-Shaped Box was good enough that I will read everything that has his name on it hoping for another one. And NOS4A2 sounds awesome. Doesn’t this sound awesome?

Victoria McQueen, a kid who has a talent for finding things, gets kidnapped by the sinister Charles Talent Manx, who sends children to a strange and horrifying place called Christmasland — and then Victoria escapes, and moves on with her life. Until years later, when Manx kidnaps Victoria’s young son.

New Stephen King!
First, Joyland:

This one is a crime novel set in an amusement park, with ghosts. Set in 1973.

And then the widely anticipated Doctor Sleep, sequel to The Shining, one of my favorite Stephen King books. Am I excited? You bet. Am I a little skeptical? That too.

New Tolkien!
“How is that possible?” you cry. Magic! Pure magic. Except it’s about King Arthur, so I’m less excited. I took a class on King Arthur as an undergraduate and it ruined the stories for me forever. Mostly. But The Fall of Arthur is still worth checking out just on principle.

New Chuck Wendig!
Though to be honest, the plot of Gods and Monsters: Unclean Spirits doesn’t really catch my interest just yet. But what do I know? It’s Chuck Wendig!

New Neil Gaiman, who I don’t tend to like as a writer, but this particular story might be kind of awesome, so I’ll be keeping an eye on it.
Something about fairy tales and bodies of water. I’ll reserve judgement on The Ocean at the End of the Lane.

gun_machinerevengedemonologist

Other books that look awesome:

The Gun Machine by Warren Ellis
… a detective finds a room full of guns, each connected to an unsolved murder. And this strange discovery leads to an even darker secret — an unholy bargain between the city’s most powerful people and the Old Gods of Manhattan.

Revenge by Yoko Ogawa
…eleven creeptastic stories, complete with Murakami-esque weirdness. In one story, a woman’s heart beats outside her body, causing people to fall in love with her — or want to preserve her beating heart inside a delicate leather bag.

The Demonologist: A Novel by Andrew Pyper
A literature professor who specializes in the literature of demons gets summoned to Venice to witness a real-life demonic event — which he doesn’t believe in, until he’s confronted with overwhelming proof. Soon, he’s trying to save his daughter from an evil demon, and his only guide is John Milton’s Paradise Lost.

God, I like morbid stuff, don’t I? There’s a lot more variety on that main list than what I’ve picked out here. Thanks to io9 for compiling such a great list.

From → Book Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

