Skip to content

Resource Highlight: D.P. Lyle

April 18, 2012

I’m posting at 12a.m. from a hotel room in sunny California, sitting cross-legged in at a desk, watching Storage Wars on the TV, and thinking my nap earlier was probably a bad idea. Since I’m still awake, I might as well do something vaguely productive with my time. So here’s the overdue blog post.

I actually have the “short story” post half-written, but I don’t have the time to finish the research right now. I don’t have much time for anything.

Having a full time job while finishing grad school means I am working seven days a week. Every spare moment at home is spent on schoolwork, except for the few “mental health” evenings I took last week because I was too run down.

This business trip is like a breath of fresh air. I feel like I’m stepping out of my life. It’s still work, but the change of environment has made a difference.

Enough about my life. If you’d wanted to hear about my day, you’d read my (dusty) Livejournal.

Since I’m limited on time, energy, and brain power tonight, I figure this is a good time to post my first resource highlight. I’ve got more of these planned, so stay tuned.

I recently discovered The Writer’s Forensics Blog. It was sort of like walking down the street and finding a fifty dollar bill. It’s run by D.P. Lyle, author and professional consultant for various big name crime TV shows. If you want to know more about him, check out his bio page.

This blog is exactly what it says it is, and more. Tips about writing mysteries, medical information, police procedure information… It’s like a toy box for crime writers. But what’s even better is that it’s not just for crime writers. The heroine of your romance novel may be suffering from amnesia. If so, read this post. There’s stuff about history in there, posts with general writing advice, and more.

God, I feel like a commercial. BUY NOW AND YOU’LL GET A SHERLOCK HOLMES PIPE, HAT, AND MAGNIFYING GLASS–A $60 VALUE ABSOLUTELY FREE!

But seriously, I’m really excited about this blog. If I am, you may be, too, so I’m sharing it with you.

I haven’t read any of his fictional works, but I’m in the middle of one of his resource books, and so far, it’s pretty useful. I’ll probably end up owning all of them, because they seem like they’d be good to have on hand. It’s great for my superhero/serial killer novel project.

Here’s the book I’m reading:
Forensics and Fiction: Clever, Intriguing, and Downright Odd Questions from Crime WritersBook Cover

He also has:
Forensics for Dummies
Howdunit Forensics
Murder and Mayhem: A Doctor Answers Medical and Forensics Questions For Mystery Writers

There’s also a sequel to Forensics and Fiction coming out soon called “More Forensics and Fiction.”

So, if you’re a writer, whatever the genre, at least check out his blog, if you haven’t already. I stress again: it’s targeted towards crime writers, but there is a lot of information in there that could apply to almost any genre, except maybe children’s books.

And now, I’m off to bed before my eyeballs melt.

3 Comments
  1. My latest post was about finding this blog too! It’s a great blog isn’t it.

    • Ha, great! It is pretty awesome.

      If you’re interested in writing crime (as you mentioned in your post, which I just hopped over and read), I picked up two books yesterday: Malicious Intent: A writer’s guide to how murderers, robbers, rapists and other criminals think by Sean Mactire, and Writing Mysteries by Sue Grafton.
      Since I just got them yesterday, I’ve only been able to flip through them, but they both look like they’ll be extremely valuable. Just to share.

      (Meant to post this as a reply. Apparently I didn’t. Reposting)

      • Thanks for the recommendations. I’ll have to have a look on Book Depository because I don’t have any fantastic bookstores nearby. Actually, I’ve got DP Lyles’ Murder and Mayhem waiting for me at the library because I couldn’t wait to buy it and have it delivered. I think I’ll have to take advantage of Book Depository’s sale!

Leave a Reply

